India Government Mint

The Government of India has the only right to mint the coins and one rupee note. The responsibility for coinage comes under the Coinage Act, 1906 which is amended from time to time. The designing and minting of coins in various denominations is also the responsibility of the Government of India. The coins are issued for circulation only through the Reserve Bank in terms of the RBI Act.

The India Government Mint operates four mints in the country for the production of coins. They are in:

  • Mumbai, Maharashtra
  • Kolkata, West Bengal
  • Hyderabad, Telangana
  • Noida, Uttar Pradesh

Each currency coin minted in India has a special mint mark on it to identify the mint.

Bombay (Mumbai) Mint:

Bombay (Mumbai) Mint has a diamond under the date of the coin (year of issue).

Calcutta (Kolkata) Mint:

Calcutta mint has no mark under the date of the coin (year of issue). Or it has a “c” mark.

Hyderabad Mint:

Hyderabad Mint has a star under the date of the coin (year of the issue). The other mint marks from Hyderabad include a split diamond and a dot in the diamond.

Noida Mint:

Noida mint has a dot under the year of issue (coin date).


Image Source:

After independence, the Government of India mint, minted coins imprinted with Indian statesmen, historical and religious figures. In year 2010 and 2011 for the first time ever ₹75, ₹150 and ₹1000 coins were minted in India to commemorate the Platinum Jubilee of the Reserve Bank of India, the 150th birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore and 1000 years of the Brihadeeswarar Temple, respectively. In 2012 a ₹60 coin was also issued to commemorate 60 years of the Government of India Mint, Kolkata. ₹100 coin was also released commemorating the 100th anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi’s return to India. Commemorative coins of ₹125 were released on 4 September 2015 and 6 December 2015 to honour 125th birth anniversary of Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan and B. R. Ambedkar respectively.

Source: India Government Mint


Leave a Reply